EEL 4781 Computer Communication Networks

 

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Central Florida, Spring 2020

 

Course Information - Objectives - Description - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus - Organization - Grading -  Schedule - Acknowledgment

 

Course Information

E-mail: murat.yuksel@ucf.edu

Phone: (407) 823-4181

Web page: www.ece.ucf.edu/~yuksem

Office: HEC 317A

Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays at 8-10am and 3-4pm or by appointment

E-mail: sifat.im@Knights.ucf.edu

Office: ENG1 471

Office hours: Wednesdays, noon-2pm

 

Objectives

Learn the generic principles, components, and design of modern computer networks, focusing on the Internet.

 

Description

Network models. Media access protocols. Data link control. Routing and flow control. Internetworking. Current architectures and protocols: OSI, Ethernet, token, ring, FDDI, HSLC, X.25, etc.

 

Prerequisites

EEL 3801C with a grade of “C” (2.0) or better and STA 3032.

 

Textbooks

Required

·       [T&W] A. S. Tanenbaum and D. J. Wetherall. (2011) Computer Networks, 5th Edition. Pearson. (ISBN: 9780132126953)

 

Recommended

·       [K&R] J. Kurose and K. Ross. (2017) Computer Networking: A Top-Down Approach, 7th Edition. Pearson. (ISBN: 9780132126953)

 

 

 

 

Syllabus (Tentative)

 

1.     Introduction to Networking Concepts

 

  1. Physical Layer

 

  1. Link Layer

 

  1. Network Layer

 

  1. Transport Layer

 

  1. Application Layer

 

  

Organization

 

Grading (Tentative)

Grading Policy

Lab Assignments

15%

Homework

20%

Programming Project

15%

Midterm Exam

25%

Final Exam

25%

Grading Scale

90% - 100%

A-, A

80% - 89%

B-, B, B+

65% - 79%

C-, C, C+

55% - 64%

D

0% - 54%

F

Important Note: Re-grading requests can only be made within the first week after the graded assignments/tests are returned to the students.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Schedule (Tentative), Notes & Assignments

 

This is a tentative schedule. It is subject to readjustment depending on the time we actually spend in class covering the topics. Slides presented in class and assignments will be posted at the WebCourses.

Date

Lectures

Reading Assignments

Mon, Jan 6

Lecture 1: Introduction to Networking Concepts

T&W, Ch. 1

Wed, Jan 8

Lecture 2: Introduction to Networking Concepts

T&W, Ch. 1

Mon, Jan 13

Lecture 3: Introduction to Networking Concepts

T&W, Ch. 1

Wed, Jan 15

Lecture 4: Introduction to Networking Concepts

T&W, Ch. 1

Mon, Jan 20

Martin Luther King Jr. Day – NO CLASS

 

Wed, Jan 22

Lecture 5: Application Layer

T&W, Ch. 7

Mon, Jan 27

Lecture 6: Application Layer

T&W, Ch. 7

Wed, Jan 29

Lecture 7: Application Layer

T&W, Ch. 7

Mon, Feb 3

Lecture 8: Application Layer

T&W, Ch. 7

Wed, Feb 5

Lecture 9: Physical Layer

T&W, Ch. 2

Mon, Feb 10

Lecture 10: Physical Layer

T&W, Ch. 2

Wed, Feb 12

Lecture 11: Physical Layer

T&W, Ch. 2

Mon, Feb 17

Lecture 12: Physical Layer

T&W, Ch. 2

Wed, Feb 19

Lecture 13: Link Layer

T&W, Ch. 3

Mon, Feb 24

Lecture 14: Link Layer

T&W, Ch. 3

Wed, Feb 26

Review

 

Mon, Mar 2

Midterm Exam

 

Wed, Mar 4

Lecture 15: Link Layer

T&W, Ch. 3

Mon, Mar 9

Spring Break – NO CLASS

 

Wed, Mar 11

Spring Break – NO CLASS

 

Mon, Mar 16

Lecture 16: Link Layer

T&W, Ch. 3

Wed, Mar 18

Lecture 17: Link Layer

T&W, Ch. 3

Mon, Mar 23

Lecture 18: Network Layer

T&W, Ch. 5

Wed, Mar 25

Lecture 19: Network Layer

T&W, Ch. 5

Mon, Mar 30

Lecture 20: Network Layer

T&W, Ch. 5

Wed, Apr 1

Lecture 21: Network Layer

T&W, Ch. 5

Mon, Apr 6

Lecture 22: Network Layer

T&W, Ch. 5

Wed, Apr 8

Lecture 23: Transport Layer

T&W, Ch. 6

Mon, Apr 13

Lecture 24: Transport Layer

T&W, Ch. 6

Wed, Apr 15

Lecture 25: Transport Layer

T&W, Ch. 6

Mon, Apr 20

Lecture 26: Transport Layer & Review

T&W, Ch. 6

Mon, Apr 27, 10am-12:50pm

Final Exam

 

 

Acknowledgment

The materials for this course are in part based upon the materials from a number of people/sources, including:

·      Official website of the Tanenbaum & Wetherall text: Computer Networks

·      Official website of the Kurose and Ross text: Computer Networking: A Top-Down Approach

·      Mehmet H. Gunes from UNR: http://www.cse.unr.edu/~mgunes

·      Lotzi Boloni: http://www.eecs.ucf.edu/~lboloni 

·      Mainak Chatterjee: http://www.cs.ucf.edu/~mainak

 

Course Information - Objectives - Description - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus - Organization - Grading -  Schedule - Acknowledgment

 

Last updated on February 17, 2020