External Awards

  • Robert M. Janowiak Outstanding Leadership and Service Award, ECE Department Head Association (ECEDHA), 2022
  • IEEE Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE AES, 2017-2019
  • Service award, ECE Department Head Association (ECEDHA), 2013
  • Fellow of AAAS: For distinguished contributions to the field of nonlinear systems and control, particularly for control of networked systems with applications to robotics and energy systems, 2012
  • Fellow of IEEE: For contributions to control for nonlinear uncertain systems, 2009
  • Associate Editor Award, the inaugural award by International journal of Robotics and Automation, 2006
  • Special Community Service Award, Orlando Chinese Professionals Association, 2006.
  • Lockheed Martin Corporate Award, 2005.
  • Technology Transfer Award, KSC, NASA, 2001.
  • Outstanding Engineering Educator, IEEE Orlando Section, 1996.
  • Research Initiation Award, The U.S. National Science Foundation, 1991.
  • Best Ph.D. Thesis Award, Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, 1991.

Selected Internal Awards