Skip to main content

History and Background

The University of Central Florida officially began as Florida Technological University on June 10, 1963. The name of the institution was changed by action of the Florida Legislature on Dec. 6, 1978.

Electrical Engineering (EE) was approved to offer the Bachelors in EE in 1967. The Masters in EE was approved in 1971 and the Ph.D. in EE began in 1983.

Computer Engineering (CpE) began in 1967 also when the BS in CpE was approved, followed in 1971 with the approval of a MS in CpE. The Ph.D. program in Computer Engineering was approved in 1983.

In 1994, the EE Department and CpE Department were merged into one Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department within the College of Engineering.

In 1998, CS moved from the College of Arts and Sciences to the College of Engineering, and in 1999 it merged with ECE to form School of EECS in the College of Engineering & Computer Science.

In 2003, School of EECS was separated into the Department of ECE and School of CS. In 2004, the School of EECS was re-formed.

In 2010, the School of EECS was renamed Department of EECS, and two divisions (ECE and CS) were established.

In 2015, Department of ECE and Department of CS were re-established.